2020 Annual Meeting Recap

LSU Alumni Association held the 2020 Annual Meeting on Friday, November 13, 2020. Bart Schmolke was named the chair and David Braddock chair-elect.

Bart B. Schmolke was named chair and David B. Braddock chair-elect of the LSU Alumni Association Board of Directors at the organization’s Annual Meeting and Past Chairs Luncheon in November 2020.

Schmolke, an independent financial advisor with Financial Solutions Group in Alexandria, La., joined the board in 2017 as an at-large member. A thirty-seven year professional in the financial industry, Bart started his career in 1983 with A.G. Edwards & Sons, and from 1988 to 2008, he served on the President’s Council with A.G. Edwards.

Braddock, of Coppell, Texas, is cofounder of Broad Oak Energy, Inc. He joined the board as an at-large member in 2016.

Re-elected for three-year terms were Brandon Landry, of Baton Rouge, District 1; Mark Kent Anderson, of Monroe, La., District 6; Michael Bethea, of Madisonville, La., at-large; Karen Brack, of San Diego, Calif., at-large; and Kathy Fives, of Baton Rouge, at-large.

In a surprise announcement, President Monk revealed the 2021 LSU Alumnus of the Year, Dr. Louis Minsky.

Minksy, a partner in Minsky & Carver Medical Center Concierge Medicine for Personal Wellness, is also chief of staff at the Baton Rouge General Medical Center, medical director of clinical informatics of the General Health System, and an assistant professor at the LSU Medical Center. He has been a member and officer of the Association Board of Directors since 1994 and is a major donor to the Alumni Fund, the Lod Cook Alumni Center, The Cook Hotel, and the Andonie Museum. In addition, he has served for many years as the official doctor on Traveling Tigers sports trips. Minsky earned his bachelor’s degree in microbiology in 1981 and his M.D. from the LSU School of Medicine in 1985.

Service awards were presented to Trudi Schriber, business manager, 25 years, and Tracy Jones, vice president for operations and advancement, 15 years. Emily Johnson, marketing assistant and ad sales representative, was recognized as Employee of the Year.

Past board chairs recognized at the meeting were Dr. Mary Lou Applewhite (1992), Dr. Minsky (2007 and 2008), Leo Hamilton (2017), and Beverly Shea (2019).


Similar posts

Get notified with our e-newsletter!

Be the first to know about our events and programs in order to connect and stay in touch with your fellow alumni.